Today’s Little Adventure

Today I dragged Millstone over the line once more! Woot! Geez, I hate that place. I mean really freakin’ hate it! But the project is done until NEXT FALL!

I got out of work a little early today.

Since my little episode last week the one thing….I do mean the one thing…all of my friends have suggested is that I take some ‘me time’ often and….’go for a walk’.

That sounds innocent enough. It even sounds like fun until you stop and consider the facts that I have worn high heels every day for over 30 years and I have lived a very sedentary lifestyle (secretary, web builder, writer).  Trust and believe when I tell you that I would rather go through labor and delivery 10 more times than walk a mere 1/4 mile. I would. I swear it. My calves KILL ME when I walk anywhere and if I’m not wearing ‘good shoes’ I’m ready to burst into tears and start screaming bloody murder within five minutes. So, if anyone out there would like to buy me a Lark Scooter, I’d be ever so grateful.

BUT, I got in my car after work today and what did His Majesty whisper in my ear;

Why don’t you go for a walk?

Oh Jesus!

It was a lovely day and on the rare occasion he talks to me anymore I do like to heed his words. So, I figured I’d drive down to Ocean Beach and take a stroll. But that wasn’t what he had in mind.

Let’s go to Harkness and look at the gardens.

Oh shit!

Not only did I not walk to around Harkness Memorial Park but practically every time I go there someone else is driving. Whenever I try to go on my own I always feel like I’m getting lost. LOL  Yes, I’ve been there a few thousand times, surely I should be able to find my way there in the pitch dark by now.

Begrudgingly, I drove down to Ocean Beach (which was the wrong thing to do, I should have gone down Niles Hill Rd instead). I drive past the entrance to the beach, over the bridge of Alwife Cove and….

I’m lost.

No, you’re not.

Yes, I am.

NO…YOU ARE NOT!

Look, dude, can we just….

Shut up. See that stop sign?

Yes.

Drive straight through it. Oh, no, wait…STOP first then go straight.

Ok.

At the next stop sign take a right.

No, it’s a left.

No it’s not, if you go left you’re going to go in a circle. You know that.

Oh, yeah, that’s right.

I take a right.

Keep going straight.

Ok.

At the next stop sign take a left.

No, that’s not right….

OH MY GODS! Just do what I’m telling you!

(Geez! Grumpy much?)  Ok.

I take the left.

Do you know where you are now? That house has been For Sale forever, hasn’t it?

Oh! Yes! You’re right!

Grumble grumble grumble

Anyway, we made it to Harkness Park. Yeah! Trust me, I know, this is ridiculous but this is what happens when one has panic/anxiety disorder. It’s very tough to live with. If it weren’t for His Majesty most of the time I’d be totally lost no matter what I was doing or where I was trying to go.

We get there and my favorite parking lot is roped off. Bummer! Yes, that’s the parking lot closest to the gardens so I had to walk.

Before my feet could go from asphalt to grass I was ready to cry. And I didn’t have my camera with me, not that it matters too much because it’s old and doesn’t work as well as it once did anymore. I had to use my cell phone to take pics. In the bright sunlight that thing is useless! The glare is so bad that I can’t see the screen to save my soul. I can’t read a text, can’t check Facebook, can’t read email, can’t play and game and I sure as shootin’ hell can’t see the image I’m trying to photograph. So I shot ‘blind’ for the whole half hour we were there. Thank the Gods it’s just digital and I can delete whatever I want. I miss film, believe me, I REALLY miss film and a 35mm camera in my hands. I DO NOT miss paying for development only to find out that half the roll is utter ka-ka. 🙂

I didn’t walk around very much, in fact, I only made it to the closest garden and then I couldn’t wander very far because I have to keep in mind that I must WALK BACK to the car.

But I made it down there and I made it home…obviously…so those are good things. Here are some of the things we saw while we were there.

 

 

 

Maybe next time I’ll remember to wear my sneakers so I’ll be able to walk a little longer without fighting back tears, take the good camera, and do a bit better with the photographs.

Tonight hubby and I are going to Caffe NV for French Onion Soup and Alfredo w/ NV. We were going just because it’s Friday but now, since Millstone is over, it turned in to a bit of a celebratory dinner. Then we’ll come home, have coffee, and finish off our second run through the entire “Game of Thrones” series.

 

 

Leave a Reply

